UNESCO's World Heritage List

A World Heritage is an environment that is considered to be completely unique in the world and thus has significance for the whole of humanity and the specific criteria for this were adopted in 1972 by the UN agency Unesco. The purpose of the World Heritage List is partly to preserve and protect the world's most important natural and cultural heritage from destruction and partly to create an understanding of.

The UN member states freely nominate candidates for the World Heritage List, but it is UNESCO's World Heritage Committee that decides whether a nomination should be adopted. If it does, it is the duty of the member country to ensure that the world heritage is preserved for the afterlife.

Almost a thousand world heritage sites are included in the list and about thirty new places are added each year. Sweden has a total of fifteen unique world heritage sites and they are:

- The seven greetings *
- Drottningholm, Ekerö *
- Birka and Hovgården, Ekerö *
- Engelsberg's use, Fagersta
- The rock carving area, Tanum
- Skogskyrkogården, Stockholm *
- Hansestaden, Visby *
- Laponia, Lapland
- Gammelstads church town, Luleå
- War Town, Karlskrona *
- Southern Öland cultivation landscape *
- High Coast, Ångermanland *
- Falun and Kopparbergslagen
- Varberg Radio Station, Grimeton *
- Struves Meridianbåge, Norrbotten

* On the site you will find bike packages for nine of the fifteen world heritage sites.